poplabux.blogg.se

Aaron frazer
Aaron frazer












aaron frazer

But Aaron Frazer filters his various sources of inspiration through his very own musical lens. It might be the musicians early shaping by the band’s style or the touches of Dan Auerbach behind the producing desk that gave Introducing… its Black Keys reminiscent vibe.

aaron frazer

As a kid you do not have a lot of privacy and freedom and having a moving box where no one can hear you was great! I think I learned to sing by singing along to a lot of the early Black Keys albums.” “When I got my driver’s license, I could be in a car where nobody would ever hear me, and it had something so liberating. His vocals might not sound like it, but Aaron Frazer actually only started singing in public when he got into college. “ I learned to sing to a Black Keys song”, Aaron tells me, for example. For many years I thought I was either going to be a Hip Hop producer or, when I discovered The Roots in high school, I wanted to play in a Hip Hop band.”Įven tough Hip Hop is still present in the artist’s life, he takes inspiration from different genres as well. The first song I heard was Jay Z’s Hard Knock Life on a compilation.” “When I was younger, my mother would play Jackson Five, Carole King, and some Motown but when I heard Hip Hop for the first time around the age of 10 it lit up my brain completely. While different genres resonate in Aaron Frazer’s musical output, Hip Hop has always played a special role in the artist’s life. The simplicity of sampling still comes through in the music now, I think, even though it is not explicitly Hip Hop.” First Loves I found soul through my initial love for Hip Hop and through its sampling practices. “It is soul music filtered through the 90s Hip Hop era. “ There are so many dimensions to it, but I keep coming back to the idea of post-Hip Hop soul”, he goes on after a few moments of thinking. “ Because of all these influences, the style of the record is hard to pin down”, Aaron adds when I ask him how he would introduce his style to someone who has never listened to his music. Dan encouraged me to explore all of those influences on my record.” I am also a very eclectic listener – I love soul and gospel of course, but I also love folk and blues, rock n roll and hip hop. He loves many different styles of music and that resonated with me.

#Aaron frazer full

“Dan created his solo project to explore his full artistic range and identity beyond the very specific sound of the Black Keys. Partly inspired by producer Dan Auerbach’s journey the musician wanted to show us the versatile facets of his musical talent. From the doo-wop rhythms of Have Mercy, to the blues rock of Bad News, and the overall 50s and 60s soul reminiscent vibe, Aaron Frazer is an artist who does not want to fit into a single box. Throughout the record a wide range of influences shines through.

aaron frazer

“You only get to make a first impression once – so make it a good one!” Post Hip-Hop Soul So, when it came to making a solo record, I wanted it to be an introduction to my different musical styles,” Aaron says about the album title. “I think many people have gotten to know me as the drummer who sings on Durand Jones & the Indications or through my gospel project. On another pandemic influenced press day, we talk for half an hour via video chat and even though most of us are probably sick of constant Zoom calls, speaking to Aaron was refreshingly effortless. Introducing… is his first solo output.Įarly December, a month ahead of the album release, the musician is zooming in from his flat in Brooklyn. The Brooklyn based musician Aaron Frazer has not yet released anything under his own name but lent his voice and musical skill to several other projects like the Soul five-piece Durand Jones & the Indications and his local gospel band The Flying Stars of Brooklyn. The pitch perfect falsetto vocals of this singer might sound familiar to you.














Aaron frazer